Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneState Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Private archives

The private archives include archive materials of non-state origin. These documents come from private record-keepers, such as members of the public, families, associations, political parties and businesses.

Private archives

Main Division D primarily holds archival materials of non-state origin, including personal bequests, family archives and club, association and company archives. The individual sections include certain other categories of archival materials (e.g. the bequests section contains some lifetime bequests and the associations, companies and parties section also holds archives from foundations and associations). Please consult the additional information in the online inventory.

  • Main Division D in the archival tectonics in the online inventory

Accepting private donations of records

The State Archive may accept and preserve documents of non-state origin that are worth archiving provided the documents are of significance to the history of the Canton of Bern. If the State Archive receives an enquiry about this, in a first step it establishes whether the documents offered are potentially of interest. If this is the case, the documents are inspected and assessed with regard to their archival value. If it is decided to accept the documents, they must be put roughly into order and recorded in an inventory.

If the documents are of lasting value, the conditions for acceptance are regulated in an agreement. The State Archive only accepts documents of non-state origin that are of archival value as a gift (no deposits, i.e. long-term loans, no purchases of archival materials) and makes them available to the public. This means that all rights to the archival materials are assigned to the State Archive. The rules on inspecting archival materials are set out in the cantonal legislation. 

Share this page

Privatarchive

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
Staatsarchiv
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Privatarchive

Die Privatarchive umfassen Archivgut aus nichtstaatlicher Herkunft. Diese Unterlagen stammen von privaten Aktenbildnern wie Personen, Familien, Vereine, Parteien und Firmen.

Privatarchive

Die Hauptabteilung D beinhaltet zum überwiegenden Teil Archivgut nichtstaatlicher Herkunft, darunter persönliche Nachlässe, Familienarchive und Vereins- und Firmenarchive. Die einzelnen Abteilungen enthalten zum Teil weitere Kategorien von Archivgut (z.B. enthält die Abteilung Nachlässe vereinzelt auch Vorlässe und in der Abteilung Vereine, Gesellschaften, Parteien befinden sich auch Archive von Stiftungen und Verbänden). Bitte beachten Sie die weiterführenden Informationen im Online-Inventar.

  • Hauptabteilung D in der Archivtektonik des Online-Inventars

Übernahme von privaten Ablieferungen

Das Staatsarchiv kann archivwürdige Unterlagen nichtstaatlicher Herkunft übernehmen und aufbewahren, wenn es sich um Unterlagen handelt, die für die Geschichte des Kantons Bern von Bedeutung sind. Wenn eine Anfrage beim Staatsarchiv eintrifft, wird in einem ersten Schritt geklärt, ob das Unterlagenangebot potentiell von Interesse ist. Wenn eine Anfrage weiterverfolgt wird, werden die Unterlagen gesichtet und auf ihre Archivwürdigkeit hin bewertet. Für eine Übernahme müssen die Unterlegen grob geordnet und in einem Verzeichnis erfasst sein.

Falls den Unterlagen ein dauernder Wert zukommt, werden in einer Vereinbarung die Übernahmemodalitäten geregelt. Das Staatsarchiv übernimmt archivwürdige Unterlagen nichtstaatlicher Herkunft ausschliesslich als Schenkung (keine Deposita, kein Ankauf von Archivalien) und stellt sie der Öffentlichkeit für die Benutzung zur Verfügung. Alle Rechte an den Archivalien gehen damit an das Staatsarchiv über. Die Einsichtsbestimmungen richten sich nach der kantonalen Gesetzgebung.

Seite teilen
  • Website-Empfehlung: Privatarchive
Staatsarchiv
Falkenplatz 4
Postfach
3001 Bern
Tel. +41 31 633 51 01Kontakt per E-MailKontaktformular
Lageplan
Karte öffnen

Öffnungszeiten Lesesaal
Dienstag - Donnerstag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Freitag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 16.30 Uhr