Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneState Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Private archives

The private archives include archive materials of non-state origin. These documents come from private record-keepers, such as members of the public, families, associations, political parties and businesses.

Private archives

Main Division D primarily holds archival materials of non-state origin, including personal bequests, family archives and club, association and company archives. The individual sections include certain other categories of archival materials (e.g. the bequests section contains some lifetime bequests and the associations, companies and parties section also holds archives from foundations and associations). Please consult the additional information in the online inventory.

  • Main Division D in the archival tectonics in the online inventory

Accepting private donations of records

The State Archive may accept and preserve documents of non-state origin that are worth archiving provided the documents are of significance to the history of the Canton of Bern. If the State Archive receives an enquiry about this, in a first step it establishes whether the documents offered are potentially of interest. If this is the case, the documents are inspected and assessed with regard to their archival value. If it is decided to accept the documents, they must be put roughly into order and recorded in an inventory.

If the documents are of lasting value, the conditions for acceptance are regulated in an agreement. The State Archive only accepts documents of non-state origin that are of archival value as a gift (no deposits, i.e. long-term loans, no purchases of archival materials) and makes them available to the public. This means that all rights to the archival materials are assigned to the State Archive. The rules on inspecting archival materials are set out in the cantonal legislation. 

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneArchives de l’Etat
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Archives privées

Les archives privées comprennent des documents d’archives de provenance non administrative. Ils sont issus de producteurs privés tels que des particuliers, des familles, des associations, des partis et des entreprises.

Archives privées

Le Hauptabteilung D/groupe principal D contient essentiellement des archives d’origine non administrative, dont des archives personnelles, des archives de familles et des archives d’associations ou d’entreprises. Les différents groupes de fonds comprennent parfois d’autres catégories d’archives (p. ex. le groupe des Nachlässe/archives personnelles contient aussi quelques fonds anthumes et le groupe des Vereine, Gesellschaften, Parteien/associations, sociétés et partis contient également des archives de fondations et de syndicats). Suivez les indications détaillées dans l’inventaire en ligne.

  • Hauptabteilung D/groupe principal D dans l'inventaire en ligne 

Prise en charge de versements de particuliers

Les Archives de l’Etat peuvent prendre en charge et conserver des documents privés ayant une valeur archivistique s’ils sont importants pour l’histoire du canton de Berne. Lorsque les Archives de l’Etat reçoivent une demande, elles examinent en premier lieu si les documents proposés présentent un intérêt potentiel. Puis, si elles donnent suite à la demande, elles étudient les documents et font une estimation de leur valeur archivistique. Une prise en charge présuppose que les documents soient sommairement classés et répertoriés.

Si les documents ont une valeur durable, les modalités de la prise en charge sont réglées dans une convention. Les Archives de l’Etat prennent en charge uniquement à titre de don les documents privés ayant une valeur archivistique (pas de dépôt, pas d’achat d’archives) et les proposent à la consultation du public. Tous les droits sur les documents sont ainsi transférés aux Archives de l’Etat. Les dispositions sur la consultation sont régies par la législation cantonale. 

Partager