Compulsory social measures

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
State Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Compulsory social measures

The Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements prior to 1981 (CSMPA) has been in force since 1 April 2017. Under this act, victims of such measures are entitled to solidarity payments (compensation). Applications for these payments must be submitted directly to the Federal Office of Justice.

Exterior view of a children's home in Bern from 1914. Children work in the garden in front of the home.
Children's home in the canton of Bern from 1914 (StABE T.1091, 1-4)
  • Federal Office of Justice

Compulsory social measures and placements (CSMP)

Were you subject to compulsory social measures as a child or young person? Were you placed in a foster family or children’s home? Were you a «Verdingkind» sent to live with another family? If so, have you already submitted an application for a solidarity payment to the Federal Office of Justice, or do you intend to do so?

If you can answer yes to any of these questions and are looking for information about what happened in your past, we will be happy to help you to search the archives. We will try to ascertain for you which authorities and homes were involved and will contact them. We try to gather as much information as possible for you. If we find something, we will make copies of the documents free of charge and send them to you.

Please note that this research sometimes takes a considerable time. It can take several weeks or even months until we find information. Unfortunately, our search is sometimes unsuccessful because not all files have been kept.

Document search request

Would you like us to search for documents for you? If so, please complete and sign the document search request form and send it to us at the State Archive of the Canton of Bern. Please enclose a copy of your ID or passport).

Contact form

Share this page
  • Recommendation Website Compulsory social measures
State Archive
Falkenplatz 4
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
no: +41 31 633 51 01Contact via Email
City plan
Situation plan

Opening hours
Tuesday - Thursday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 5pm

Friday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 4.30pm

Fürsorgerische Zwangsmassnahmen

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
Staatsarchiv
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Fürsorgerische Zwangsmassnahmen

Das Bundesgesetz über die Aufarbeitung der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen vor 1981 (AFZFG) ist seit 1. April 2017 in Kraft. Es sieht unter anderem die Auszahlung eines Solidaritätsbeitrages an Opfer von solchen Massnahmen vor. Gesuche um Solidaritätsbeiträge müssen direkt ans Bundesamt für Justiz gerichtet werden.

Aussenansicht eines Kinderheims in Bern von 1914. Im Garten vor dem Heim arbeiten Kinder.
Kinderheim im Kanton Bern von 1914 (StABE T.1091, 1-4)
  • Bundesamt für Justiz

Fürsorgerische Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen

Waren Sie als Kind oder in Ihrer Jugend von fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen betroffen? Wurden Sie fremdplatziert? Waren Sie ein «Verdingkind», wie man früher sagte? Haben Sie aus diesem Grund beim Bundesamt für Justiz bereits ein Gesuch für einen Solidaritätsbeitrag eingereicht oder möchten Sie dies noch tun?

Falls Sie eine dieser Fragen mit ja beantworten können und Informationen darüber suchen, was damals geschehen ist, helfen wir Ihnen gerne bei der Aktenrecherche. Wir suchen für Sie nach den zuständigen Behörden und Heimen und kontaktieren diese. Wir versuchen, so viele Informationen wie möglich für Sie zusammenzutragen. Wenn wir etwas finden, machen wir Ihnen gratis Kopien der Dokumente und schicken Ihnen diese zu.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Nachforschungen manchmal viel Zeit brauchen. Es kann mehrere Wochen oder gar Monate dauern, bis wir Informationen finden. Leider kommt es auch vor, dass unsere Suche erfolglos bleibt, weil nicht alle Akten aufbewahrt worden sind.

Aktensuchauftrag

Sollen wir Akten für Sie suchen? Dann füllen Sie das Auftragsformular Aktensuche aus, unterschreiben Sie es und schicken Sie es an das Staatsarchiv des Kantons Bern. Bitte legen Sie eine Kopie Ihres Ausweises (ID oder Pass) bei.

Kontaktformular

Seite teilen
  • Website-Empfehlung: Fürsorgerische Zwangsmassnahmen
Staatsarchiv
Falkenplatz 4
Postfach
3001 Bern
Tel. +41 31 633 51 01Kontakt per E-Mail
Lageplan
Karte öffnen

Öffnungszeiten Lesesaal
Dienstag - Donnerstag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Freitag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 16.30 Uhr