Compulsory social measures

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
State Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Compulsory social measures

The Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements prior to 1981 (CSMPA) has been in force since 1 April 2017. Under this act, victims of such measures are entitled to solidarity payments (compensation). Applications for these payments must be submitted directly to the Federal Office of Justice.

Exterior view of a children's home in Bern from 1914. Children work in the garden in front of the home.
Children's home in the canton of Bern from 1914 (StABE T.1091, 1-4)
  • Federal Office of Justice

Compulsory social measures and placements (CSMP)

Were you subject to compulsory social measures as a child or young person? Were you placed in a foster family or children’s home? Were you a «Verdingkind» sent to live with another family? If so, have you already submitted an application for a solidarity payment to the Federal Office of Justice, or do you intend to do so?

If you can answer yes to any of these questions and are looking for information about what happened in your past, we will be happy to help you to search the archives. We will try to ascertain for you which authorities and homes were involved and will contact them. We try to gather as much information as possible for you. If we find something, we will make copies of the documents free of charge and send them to you.

Please note that this research sometimes takes a considerable time. It can take several weeks or even months until we find information. Unfortunately, our search is sometimes unsuccessful because not all files have been kept.

Document search request

Would you like us to search for documents for you? If so, please complete and sign the document search request form and send it to us at the State Archive of the Canton of Bern. Please enclose a copy of your ID or passport).

Contact form

Share this page
  • Recommendation Website Compulsory social measures
State Archive
Falkenplatz 4
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
no: +41 31 633 51 01Contact via Email
City plan
Situation plan

Opening hours
Tuesday - Thursday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 5pm

Friday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 4.30pm

Mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
Archives de l’Etat
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance

La loi fédérale sur les mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance et les placements extrafamiliaux antérieurs à 1981 (LMCFA) est en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2017. Elle prévoit notamment le paiement d’une contribution de solidarité en faveur des victimes. Les demandes d’octroi de contribution doivent être adressées directement à l’Office fédéral de la justice.

Vue extérieure d'une institution pour enfants à Berne de 1914, où les enfants travaillent dans le jardin devant la résidence.
Institution pour enfants dans le canton de Berne à partir de 1914 (StABE T.1091, 1-4)
  • Office fédéral de la justice

Mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance et placements extrafamiliaux

Avez-vous fait l’objet des mesures de coercition à des fins d’assistance dans votre enfance ou votre jeunesse? Avez-vous été placé ou placée? Etiez-vous un «enfant placé», comme on le disait autrefois? Avez-vous pour cette raison déposé une demande de contribution de solidarité à l’Office fédéral de la justice ou souhaitez-vous le faire?

Au cas où vous auriez répondu par «oui» à l’une de ces questions et que vous rechercheriez des informations sur ce qui s’est passé à l’époque, nous vous aidons volontiers. Pour vous, nous recherchons les autorités compétentes et les foyers, et nous les contactons. Nous essayons de réunir le plus d’informations possible. Si nous trouvons quelque chose, nous copions gratuitement les documents et vous envoyons ces copies.

Nous vous rendons attentif au fait que ces recherches prennent parfois beaucoup de temps. Cela peut durer des semaines voire des mois jusqu’à ce que nous trouvions des informations. Il arrive malheureusement aussi que nos recherches restent sans résultat parce que les documents n’ont pas tous été conservés.

Demande de recherche de documents administratifs

Devons-nous rechercher des documents pour vous? Alors remplissez le formulaire de demande de recherche de documents administratifs, signez-le et envoyez-le aux Archives de l’Etat de Berne. Merci de joindre une copie de votre carte d’identité ou de votre passeport.

Formulaire de contact

Partager
Archives de l’Etat
Falkenplatz 4
Case postale
3001 Berne
Tél.: +41 31 633 51 01Contact par courriel
Plan de situation
Plan de situation

Heures d'ouverture
Mardi - Jeudi
08 h 00 à 12 h 00
13 h 00 à 17 h 00

Vendredi
08 h 00 à 12 h 00
13 h 00 à 16 h 30