Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneState Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Archival documents

The State Archive preserves around 30 shelf-kilometres of archive materials in its storerooms, in analogue and digital form. The holdings are classified into various main divisions and structured in hierarchical order depending on the context and date of their creation.

The State Archive is the archive for the Canton of Bern and its legal predecessors.
The State Archive contains:

  • almost 30,000 shelf metres of documents
  • around 41,800 public deeds and charters
  • around 45,000 maps and plans
  • 1.2 million photographs and negatives

To search our holdings, use the online catalogue. You can search our archive inventory (Query) or make a general search of 34 Swiss archives on archivesonline.org.

  • Online inventory

  • Swiss Archive Portal «Archives Online»

Archival tectonics

You can use the archive plan search function to search the archival tectonics. The archive holdings are arranged into the following main divisions:

  • A Chancellery archive
  • B Administration archive
  • C State collections
  • D Special archive
  • E Aids

In addition, the holdings are sub-divided into sections (Abteilungen), holdings (Bestände), sub-holdings (Teilbestände) and series (Serien). Please note the information in the online inventory on how to use the inventory and on the history of the administration and the holdings. This information is found at the beginning and is not repeated for each individual archive holding. 

Provenance vs. pertinence holdings

The main Administration Archives division is also sub-divided according to date. It is important to be aware that the older sections contain pertinence holdings (reference number BB Roman), while the more recent sections are generally provenance materials (reference number BB Arabic), which are arranged in line with current archiving requirements according to their origins. This makes a systematic search within the organisational structure of a holding possible.

In the older pertinence holdings, documents on a variety of subjects are brought together to achieve factual cohesion. This method of organisation, which was customary in the past, has the disadvantage that the causal connection between the documents is no longer visible and a systematic search is difficult, because the holdings themselves lack a coherent structure. When searching a pertinence holding, therefore, archival materials often have to be systematically searched in order to find a specific document.

Archival materials available in analogue form

The majority of our holdings are only available in analogue form. They mainly comprise paper documents. Our online inventory contains entries at dossier level, i.e. the metadata for most dossiers, such as the title and period. The dossier itself and the documents it contains must on the other hand be ordered and consulted in the reading room.

Please note that in many cases the finding aids that are essential for searching and consulting the archival materials are only available in analogue form. Finding aids include physical or electronic directories, registers, card indexes, lists and organisational charts. Finding aids are marked in the online inventory. 

Archival materials available in digital form

As the means to digitise holdings are very limited, only selected archival materials can be digitised. We prioritise the digitisation of pictures, maps and plans that are in high demand from users. The digital images can be viewed in the online inventory as compressed JPG files. If the resolution is not sufficient for your purposes or if you need a different file format, we can make you a reproduction for a fee in accordance with the reproduction regulations.

Administrative units that meet the requirements for a legally compliant digital records and process management system should archive their documents in digital form. In the case of these so-called digital born documents, users are not only able to search in the online inventory for the metadata, but also have access to the primary data, provided the documents are no longer subject to a closure period. They also have rights of access, including online access.

Share this page

Archivalien

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
Staatsarchiv
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Archivalien

Das Staatsarchiv lagert in seinen Magazinen rund 30 Kilometer Archivgut in analoger und digitaler Form. Die Bestände sind in verschiedene Hauptabteilungen unterteilt und je nach Entstehungszusammenhang und Ordnungsepoche weiter hierarchisch gegliedert.

Das Staatsarchiv ist das Archiv des Kantons Bern und seiner Rechtsvorgänger.
Im Staatsarchiv archiviert werden:

  • knapp 30'000 Laufmeter Akten
  • ca. 41'800 Urkunden
  • rund 45'000 Karten und Pläne
  • 1,2 Mio. Fotografien und Fotonegative

Zur Recherche in unseren Beständen benutzen Sie die Online-Kataloge. Suchen Sie in unserem elektronischen Archivinventar (Query) oder machen Sie eine übergreifende Suche in 34 Schweizer Archiven auf archivesonline.

  • Online-Inventar

  • Schweizerisches Archivportal «Archives Online»

Archivtektonik

Mittels Archivplansuche können Sie in der Archivtektonik suchen. Die Archivbestände gliedern sich in folgende Hauptabteilungen:

  • A Kanzleiarchiv
  • B Verwaltungsarchive
  • C Staatliche Sammlungen
  • D Spezialarchive
  • E Hilfsmittel

Weiter sind die Bestände in Abteilungen, Bestände, Teilbestände und Serien untergliedert. Bitte beachten Sie die im Online-Inventar aufgeführten Hinweise zur Benutzung und zur Verwaltungs- und Bestandesgeschichte. Diese Hinweise finden sich jeweils auf übergeordneter Stufe und werden nicht bei jeder einzelnen Archivalie wiederholt.

Provenienz- vs. Pertinenzbestände

Die Hauptabteilung Verwaltungsarchive ist zeitlich weiter untergliedert. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass die älteren Abteilungen Pertinenzbestände (Signatur BB römisch) beinhalten, während es sich bei den neueren Abteilungen durchwegs um Provenienzbestände (Signatur BB arabisch) handelt, die nach den heutigen archivfachlichen Vorgaben nach ihren Entstehungszusammenhängen erschlossen sind. Dies ermöglicht die systematische Suche innerhalb der Ordnungsstrukturen eines Bestandes.

Bei den älteren Pertinenzbeständen hingegen wurden Akten aus verschiedenen Bereichen zu einem Sachzusammenhang zusammengetragen. Dieses früher übliche Ordnungsprinzip hat den Nachteil, dass der Entstehungszusammenhang der Unterlagen nicht mehr ersichtlich ist und eine planmässige Suche schwerfällt, weil die Bestände in sich kaum strukturiert sind. Bei der Recherche innerhalb eines Pertinenzbestands müssen deshalb häufig alle Archivalien systematisch durchsucht werden, um ein bestimmtes Dokument zu finden.

In analoger Form vorliegende Archivalien

Der überwiegende Teil unserer Bestände liegt nur in analoger Form vor. Mehrheitlich handelt es sich um Papierakten. In unserem Online-Inventar finden Sie in der Regel einen Eintrag auf Stufe Dossier. Das heisst, die Metadaten des Dossiers wie Titel und Zeitraum sind online recherchierbar, das Dossier selber mit den darin enthaltenen Dokumenten muss hingegen zur Konsultation im Lesesaal bestellt werden.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass vielfach auch die Findmittel, die zur Recherche und Konsultation der Archivalien unerlässlich sind, ausschliesslich in analoger Form vorliegen. Im Online-Inventar sind die Findmittel jeweils kenntlich gemacht.

In digitaler Form vorliegende Archivalien

Da die Mittel, die zur Digitalisierung zur Verfügung stehen, sehr limitiert sind, können nur ausgewählte Archivalien digitalisiert werden. Wir digitalisieren insbesondere Bilder sowie Karten und Pläne, die von den Benutzerinnen und Benutzern stark nachgefragt sind. Zur Ansicht stehen die Digitalisate im Online-Inventar als komprimierte JPG-Dateien zur Verfügung. Falls Ihnen die Auflösung nicht reicht oder Sie ein anderes Dateiformat benötigen, können wir Ihnen gerne gemäss Reproduktionsbestimmungen eine kostenpflichtige Reproduktion erstellen.

Verwaltungseinheiten, die die Anforderungen an eine rechtskonforme digitale Geschäftsverwaltung erfüllen, archivieren ihre Unterlagen in digitaler Form. Bei solchen sogenannten digital born Unterlagen sind im Online-Inventar nicht nur die Metadaten recherchierbar, sondern der Zugriff auf die Primärdaten erfolgt, sofern die Unterlagen keiner Schutzfrist mehr unterliegen bzw. die Benutzerinnen und Benutzer zugriffsberechtigt sind, ebenfalls online.

Seite teilen
  • Website-Empfehlung: Archivalien
Staatsarchiv
Falkenplatz 4
Postfach
3001 Bern
Tel. +41 31 633 51 01Kontakt per E-MailKontaktformular
Lageplan
Karte öffnen

Öffnungszeiten Lesesaal
Dienstag - Donnerstag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Freitag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 16.30 Uhr