Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneState Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Archival documents

The State Archive preserves around 30 shelf-kilometres of archive materials in its storerooms, in analogue and digital form. The holdings are classified into various main divisions and structured in hierarchical order depending on the context and date of their creation.

The State Archive is the archive for the Canton of Bern and its legal predecessors.
The State Archive contains:

  • almost 30,000 shelf metres of documents
  • around 41,800 public deeds and charters
  • around 45,000 maps and plans
  • 1.2 million photographs and negatives

To search our holdings, use the online catalogue. You can search our archive inventory (Query) or make a general search of 34 Swiss archives on archivesonline.org.

  • Online inventory

  • Swiss Archive Portal «Archives Online»

Archival tectonics

You can use the archive plan search function to search the archival tectonics. The archive holdings are arranged into the following main divisions:

  • A Chancellery archive
  • B Administration archive
  • C State collections
  • D Special archive
  • E Aids

In addition, the holdings are sub-divided into sections (Abteilungen), holdings (Bestände), sub-holdings (Teilbestände) and series (Serien). Please note the information in the online inventory on how to use the inventory and on the history of the administration and the holdings. This information is found at the beginning and is not repeated for each individual archive holding. 

Provenance vs. pertinence holdings

The main Administration Archives division is also sub-divided according to date. It is important to be aware that the older sections contain pertinence holdings (reference number BB Roman), while the more recent sections are generally provenance materials (reference number BB Arabic), which are arranged in line with current archiving requirements according to their origins. This makes a systematic search within the organisational structure of a holding possible.

In the older pertinence holdings, documents on a variety of subjects are brought together to achieve factual cohesion. This method of organisation, which was customary in the past, has the disadvantage that the causal connection between the documents is no longer visible and a systematic search is difficult, because the holdings themselves lack a coherent structure. When searching a pertinence holding, therefore, archival materials often have to be systematically searched in order to find a specific document.

Archival materials available in analogue form

The majority of our holdings are only available in analogue form. They mainly comprise paper documents. Our online inventory contains entries at dossier level, i.e. the metadata for most dossiers, such as the title and period. The dossier itself and the documents it contains must on the other hand be ordered and consulted in the reading room.

Please note that in many cases the finding aids that are essential for searching and consulting the archival materials are only available in analogue form. Finding aids include physical or electronic directories, registers, card indexes, lists and organisational charts. Finding aids are marked in the online inventory. 

Archival materials available in digital form

As the means to digitise holdings are very limited, only selected archival materials can be digitised. We prioritise the digitisation of pictures, maps and plans that are in high demand from users. The digital images can be viewed in the online inventory as compressed JPG files. If the resolution is not sufficient for your purposes or if you need a different file format, we can make you a reproduction for a fee in accordance with the reproduction regulations.

Administrative units that meet the requirements for a legally compliant digital records and process management system should archive their documents in digital form. In the case of these so-called digital born documents, users are not only able to search in the online inventory for the metadata, but also have access to the primary data, provided the documents are no longer subject to a closure period. They also have rights of access, including online access.

Share this page

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de BerneArchives de l’Etat
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Archives

Dans les dépôts des Archives de l’Etat se trouvent quelque 30 000 mètres linéaires de documents sous forme analogique et numérique. Les fonds sont répartis entre différents groupes et font l’objet d’un classement hiérarchique supplémentaire en fonction de leur contexte de création et de l’époque à laquelle ils ont été décrits.

Les Archives de l’Etat sont les Archives du canton de Berne et des entités juridiques qui l’ont précédé.

Elles contiennent

  • près de 30 000 mètres linéaires de documents
  • environ 41 800 chartes
  • près de 45 000 cartes et plans
  • 1,2 million de photographies et négatifs

Pour toute recherche dans nos fonds, utilisez l’inventaire en ligne. Cherchez dans le répertoire électronique de nos fonds et collections (Query) ou faites une recherche globale dans 34 Archives en Suisse au moyen de archivesonline.org.

  • Inventaire en ligne

  • Archives en Suisse «Archives Online»

Structure du classement des archives

Avec la Recherche dans le plan d’archivage, vous pouvez naviguer dans la structure de classement des archives. Les fonds des archives se divisent en cinq groupes principaux:

  • A Kanzleiarchiv/Archives de la Chancellerie
  • B Verwaltungsarchive/Archives de l’administration
  • C Staatliche Sammlungen/Collections de l’Etat
  • D Spezialarchive/Archives spéciales
  • E Hilfsmittel/Instruments de recherche

Par ailleurs, les fonds sont subdivisés en Abteilungen/groupes de fonds, Bestände/fonds, Teilbeständen/sous-fonds et Serien/séries. Suivez les indications précisées dans l’inventaire en ligne pour la consultation des fonds et pour connaître leur histoire ainsi que celle des administrations qui les ont produits. Ces indications se trouvent au niveau supérieur et ne sont pas répétées à chaque document. 

Provenance vs pertinence

Le groupe principal «Verwaltungsarchive/Archives de l’administration» est subdivisé chronologiquement. Il faut savoir que les anciens groupes contiennent des fonds constitués selon le principe de pertinence (Cote BB chiffres romains) alors que les groupes plus récents contiennent surtout des fonds constitués selon le principe de provenance (Cote BB chiffres arabes), qui ont été décrits conformément aux normes actuelles d’archivage d’après leur contexte de création. Cela permet une recherche systématique dans la structure de classement d’un fonds.

Les fonds anciens constitués selon le principe de pertinence réunissent en revanche des documents de différents domaines dans une matière spécifique. Ce principe de classement autrefois courant a l’inconvénient de ne pas montrer le contexte de création des documents et de rendre la recherche dans le plan d’archivage plus difficile, parce que les fonds sont peu structurés. Une recherche dans un fonds constitué selon le principe de pertinence oblige donc souvent à parcourir soigneusement toutes les archives avant de trouver un document donné. 

Archives sous forme analogique

La plus grande partie de nos fonds existe seulement sous forme analogique. Il s’agit principalement de documents papier. Vous trouverez normalement dans notre inventaire en ligne une entrée au niveau Dossier. Ce qui signifie que les métadonnées (titre, période) peuvent être recherchées en ligne, mais que le dossier lui-même et les documents qu’il contient doivent être commandés pour consultation en salle de lecture.

Notez que souvent les instruments de recherche, indispensables pour la recherche et la consultation d’archives, existent uniquement sous forme analogique. L’inventaire en ligne indique chaque fois les instruments de recherche. 

Archives sous forme numérique

Comme les moyens disponibles pour la numérisation sont très limités, seules quelques archives sélectionnées peuvent être numérisées, en particulier les photos ainsi que les cartes et plans qui sont très demandés par les utilisateurs et utilisatrices. Les numérisations peuvent être consultées sur l’inventaire en ligne en tant que fichiers JPG comprimés. Si la résolution ne vous suffit pas ou que vous ayez besoin d’un autre format de données, nous établissons volontiers une reproduction à vos frais conformément aux dispositions sur la reproduction.

Les unités administratives qui remplissent les exigences d’une gestion électronique des affaires conforme au droit archivent leurs documents sous forme numérique. Avec ces documents dits digital born (nés numériques), il est possible non seulement de rechercher les métadonnées dans l’inventaire en ligne, mais aussi d’accéder aux données primaires en ligne dans la mesure où le délai de protection est échu et que les utilisateurs et utilisatrices ont le droit d’accès.

Partager