Researching family histories / genealogy

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
State Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Researching family histories / genealogy

Are you looking to research your family’s history and draw up a family tree? If your family comes from the canton of Bern, you can consult the canton’s parish records online, as they are held in the State Archive.

If you are interested in researching your family history (also known as genealogy), parish records (Kirchenbücher) are very important. These records of baptisms, marriages and deaths kept by the parish pastors were the forerunners of today’s civil registers.

The parish records for most Bernese parishes from the time of the Reformation until the Federal Marital Status Act came into force in 1876 are now stored in the State Archive. The parish records for the parishes of Frutigen, Guttannen, Lenk and Saanen are not yet available in the State Archive.

In order to preserve them properly, all parish records have been microfilmed. Since February 2017, they have been available online. Parish records can now only be viewed on microfilm, no longer in the original. 

How to go about it

Researching your family history on the basis of the Bernese parish records is only possible if your family’s place of origin is in the canton of Bern.

Research into a family history begins with its most recent members. Information about family members must as far as possible be obtained from the relevant civil register office. If you have information dating back to around 1870, then you can continue your research with the aid of the parish records. You can do this during our opening hours at the State Archive or online from home.

The parish records were handwritten in old German script (Kurrentschrift, Spitzschrift). You therefore need a basic knowledge of how to read this script. The reading room staff will provide you with some help, but cannot carry out research for private individuals.

  • Civil register office of the canton of Bern

  • Parish records online

The following professional genealogists can offer your further information on genealogy or provide help in researching your family history:

You will find details of other genealogists on the website of the

Instructions on searching parish records online

View archive plan search in the online catalogue
View archive plan search in the online catalogue

In order to access the parish records online, click on the following link www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Click on the «+» symbol to navigate to the desired parish or to the records that you are looking for.

Detail view from church book Aarberg 1 in the online catalogue
Detail view from church book Aarberg 1

Double-clicking on the desired parish record book (e.g. K Aarberg 1 Taufrodel …) will give you a detail view of the record. In the lower third of the data sheet, under «Files», you will find the digitalised parish record book as a pdf file. By double-clicking on the underlined name you can open the file. Please be patient – the files are very large and it may take a moment or two before they open.

In order to get back to the overview, click on «Localise in archives plan» in the blue column on the left.

Share this page
State Archive
Falkenplatz 4
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
no: +41 31 633 51 01Contact via EmailContact form
City plan
Situation plan

Opening hours
Tuesday - Thursday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 5pm

Friday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 4.30pm

Familienforschung

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
Staatsarchiv
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Familienforschung

Möchten Sie Ihre Familiengeschichte erforschen und einen Stammbaum Ihrer Familie erstellen? Falls Ihre Familie aus dem Kanton Bern stammt, konsultieren Sie online die Kirchenbücher der Bernischen Kirchgemeinden, die im Staatsarchiv lagern.  

Zur Erforschung der Familiengeschichte (auch «Genealogie» genannt) sind die so genannten «Kirchenbücher» von zentraler Bedeutung. Diese von den Pfarrern geführten Tauf-, Ehe- und Totenrodel sind die Vorläufer der heutigen Zivilstandsregister.

Die Kirchenbücher der meisten bernischen Kirchgemeinden aus der Zeit von der Reformation bis zum Inkrafttreten des Eidgenössischen Zivilstandsgesetzes (1876) werden zentral im Staatsarchiv aufbewahrt. Noch nicht im Staatsarchiv befinden sich die Kirchenbücher der Gemeinden Frutigen, Guttannen, Lenk und Saanen.

Aus konservatorischen Gründen wurden alle Kirchenbücher mikroverfilmt. Seit Februar 2017 sind sie online verfügbar. Eine Einsichtnahme in die Originale der Kirchenbücher ist aus konservatorischen Gründen nicht mehr möglich.

Vorgehen

Familienforschung anhand der bernischen Kirchenbücher ist nur möglich, wenn der Heimatort der erforschten Familie im Kanton Bern liegt.

Die Erforschung einer Familie beginnt bei deren jüngsten Mitgliedern. Auskünfte über die Familienmitglieder müssen so weit wie möglich beim zuständigen Zivilstandsamt eingeholt werden. Sind diese rückwärts bis ca. 1870 bekannt, kann die Arbeit mit Hilfe der digital zugänglichen Kirchenbücher der entsprechenden Heimatgemeinde weitergeführt werden. Dies kann zu unseren Öffnungszeiten vor Ort im Staatsarchiv erfolgen oder aber online von zu Hause aus.

Die Kirchenbücher sind in der Alten Deutschen Schrift («deutsche Kurrentschrift», «Spitzschrift») verfasst. Grundkenntnisse im Lesen dieser Schrift sind bei einer Recherche in den Kirchenbüchern deshalb unabdingbar. Das Lesesaalpersonal steht Ihnen für Hinweise und Lesetipps zur Verfügung, Nachforschungen für Privatpersonen können jedoch nicht durchgeführt werden.

  • Zivilstandsämter des Kantons Bern

  • Digital zugängliche Kirchenbücher

Weiterführende Informationen zur Genealogie oder Hilfe bei familiengeschichtlichen Nachforschungen bieten die folgenden professionellen Genealoginnen und Genealogen:

Weitere Adressen zu Genealoginnen und Genealogen finden Sie auf der Seite der

Anleitung Recherche Kirchenbücher online

Ansicht Archivplansuche im Online-Katalog
Ansicht Archivplansuche im Online-Katalog

Um zu den Online-Kirchenbüchern zu gelangen, öffnen Sie folgenden Link www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Klicken Sie nun das Symbol «+», bis Sie bei der gewünschten Kirchgemeinde, respektive dem gesuchten Kirchenbuch angelangt sind.  

Detailansicht vom Kirchenbuch Aarberg 1 im Online Katalog
Detailansicht vom Kirchenbuch Aarberg 1

Mit einem Doppelklick auf das gewünschte Kirchenbuch (z.B. K Aarberg 1, Taufrodel, Eherodel) öffnet sich die Detailansicht. Im unteren Drittel des Datenblatts finden Sie unter «Dateien» das digitalisierte Kirchenbuch als pdf-Datei. Mit einem Klick auf den unterstrichenen Dateinamen können Sie die Datei öffnen. Bitte haben Sie etwas Geduld – die Dateien sind sehr gross und benötigen möglicherweise einen Moment, bis sie geöffnet sind.

Um zurück zur Archivplanübersicht zu gelangen, klicken Sie links in der blauen Spalte auf «Im Archivplan lokalisieren».  

Seite teilen
Staatsarchiv
Falkenplatz 4
Postfach
3001 Bern
Tel. +41 31 633 51 01Kontakt per E-MailKontaktformular
Lageplan
Karte öffnen

Öffnungszeiten Lesesaal
Dienstag - Donnerstag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Freitag
08.00 - 12.00 Uhr
13.00 - 16.30 Uhr