Researching family histories / genealogy

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
State Archive
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Researching family histories / genealogy

Are you looking to research your family’s history and draw up a family tree? If your family comes from the canton of Bern, you can consult the canton’s parish records online, as they are held in the State Archive.

If you are interested in researching your family history (also known as genealogy), parish records (Kirchenbücher) are very important. These records of baptisms, marriages and deaths kept by the parish pastors were the forerunners of today’s civil registers.

The parish records for most Bernese parishes from the time of the Reformation until the Federal Marital Status Act came into force in 1876 are now stored in the State Archive. The parish records for the parishes of Frutigen, Guttannen, Lenk and Saanen are not yet available in the State Archive.

In order to preserve them properly, all parish records have been microfilmed. Since February 2017, they have been available online. Parish records can now only be viewed on microfilm, no longer in the original. 

How to go about it

Researching your family history on the basis of the Bernese parish records is only possible if your family’s place of origin is in the canton of Bern.

Research into a family history begins with its most recent members. Information about family members must as far as possible be obtained from the relevant civil register office. If you have information dating back to around 1870, then you can continue your research with the aid of the parish records. You can do this during our opening hours at the State Archive or online from home.

The parish records were handwritten in old German script (Kurrentschrift, Spitzschrift). You therefore need a basic knowledge of how to read this script. The reading room staff will provide you with some help, but cannot carry out research for private individuals.

  • Civil register office of the canton of Bern

  • Parish records online

The following professional genealogists can offer your further information on genealogy or provide help in researching your family history:

You will find details of other genealogists on the website of the

Instructions on searching parish records online

View archive plan search in the online catalogue
View archive plan search in the online catalogue

In order to access the parish records online, click on the following link www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Click on the «+» symbol to navigate to the desired parish or to the records that you are looking for.

Detail view from church book Aarberg 1 in the online catalogue
Detail view from church book Aarberg 1

Double-clicking on the desired parish record book (e.g. K Aarberg 1 Taufrodel …) will give you a detail view of the record. In the lower third of the data sheet, under «Files», you will find the digitalised parish record book as a pdf file. By double-clicking on the underlined name you can open the file. Please be patient – the files are very large and it may take a moment or two before they open.

In order to get back to the overview, click on «Localise in archives plan» in the blue column on the left.

Share this page
State Archive
Falkenplatz 4
P.O. Box
3001 Bern
no: +41 31 633 51 01Contact via EmailContact form
City plan
Situation plan

Opening hours
Tuesday - Thursday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 5pm

Friday
8am - 12pm
1pm - 4.30pm

Généalogie

Logo Kanton Bern / Canton de Berne
Archives de l’Etat
  • de
  • fr
  • en

Généalogie

Souhaitez-vous mener des recherches sur l’histoire de votre famille et dresser un arbre généalogique? Si votre famille est originaire du canton de Berne, vous pourriez obtenir des informations en consultant en ligne les registres paroissiaux des paroisses bernoises qui sont conservés par les Archives de l’Etat.

Pour découvrir l’histoire de sa famille, c’est-à-dire mener des recherches généalogiques, les registres paroissiaux sont de la plus haute importance. Ces registres des baptêmes, des mariages et des décès tenus autrefois par les ministres du culte sont les précurseurs des registres d’état civil actuels.

Les registres paroissiaux de la majeure partie des paroisses bernoises sont conservés aux Archives de l’Etat. Les premiers datent de la Réformation et tous s’arrêtent à l’entrée en vigueur de la loi fédérale sur l’état civil (1876). Les registres paroissiaux de Frutigen, Guttannen, la Lenk et Saanen n’ont pas encore été versés aux Archives de l’Etat.

Afin d’être préservés, tous les registres paroissiaux ont été microfilmés. Ils sont disponibles en ligne depuis février 2017. La consultation des registres paroissiaux originaux n’est plus possible, afin d’assurer leur conservation.

Comment procéder?

Les recherches généalogiques dans les registres paroissiaux bernois ne sont possibles que si la commune d’origine se trouve dans les frontières actuelles du canton de Berne.

Pour établir la généalogie d’une famille, il faut commencer par identifier ses membres les plus jeunes. Les renseignements nécessaires doivent être demandés à l’office de l’état civil compétent. Si vous avez pu remonter vos recherches généalogiques jusqu’à 1870 environ, vous pouvez les poursuivre à l’aide des registres paroissiaux accessibles en ligne de la commune d’origine correspondante – soit sur place aux Archives de l’Etat durant les heures d’ouverture, soit depuis chez vous.

Les registres paroissiaux sont écrits en cursive gothique allemande. Des connaissances de base sont dès lors requises pour déchiffrer cette écriture et mener à bien vos recherches dans les registres. Le personnel de la salle de lecture vous donne volontiers les indications et les conseils dont vous avez besoin. Il ne peut cependant pas procéder à des recherches pour des particuliers. 

  • Offices de l’état civil du canton de Berne

  • Registres paroissiaux au format numérique

Les généalogistes professionnels suivants peuvent vous renseigner et vous aider dans vos recherches généalogiques:

Vous trouvez d’autres adresses de généalogistes sur le site de la

Recherches en ligne dans les registres paroissiaux

Voir la recherche dans le plan d'archivage dans le catalogue en ligne
Voir la recherche dans le plan d'archivage dans le catalogue en ligne

Pour accéder aux registres paroissiaux en ligne, cliquez sur le lien suivant www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Cliquez sur le symbole «+» jusqu’à la paroisse ou au registre paroissial recherchés.

Vue détaillée du registre paroissial Aarberg 1 dans le catalogue en ligne
Vue détaillée du registre paroissial Aarberg 1

Double-cliquez sur le registre paroissial souhaité (p. ex. K Aarberg 1, Taufrodel, Eherodel) pour ouvrir un aperçu détaillé. Dans le tiers inférieur de la fiche de données, vous trouvez le registre paroissial numérisé au format PDF sous la section «Fichiers». Double-cliquez sur le lien souligné pour ouvrir le fichier. Faites preuve de patience: les données sont très volumineuses et peuvent prendre du temps à s’ouvrir.

Pour retourner à la vue d’ensemble, cliquez sur «Localiser dans le plan d’archivage» dans la colonne bleue située à gauche de l’écran.

Partager
Archives de l’Etat
Falkenplatz 4
Case postale
3001 Berne
Tél.: +41 31 633 51 01Contact par courrielFormulaire de contact
Plan de situation
Plan de situation

Heures d'ouverture
Mardi - Jeudi
08 h 00 à 12 h 00
13 h 00 à 17 h 00

Vendredi
08 h 00 à 12 h 00
13 h 00 à 16 h 30